Norman Rockwell’s “The War Hero”: A New Interpretation

080515.01  the war hero
The War Hero (aka Homecoming Marine), by Norman Rockwell, 1945; this image was downloaded from the Internet, and is utilised here via the Fair Use Act.

151111 THE WAR HERO

To open the Document, simply double-click on the words “THE WAR HERO” above, and the PDF file will open for you; you may then download the file to your own computer, or read here, at your leisure.

The War Hero, by Norman Rockwell, is one of my favourite paintings; as with all Rockwell pieces, it is a backwards glance[1] into an America I do not know.  Nor could I have known it, without the timely assistance of HG Wells;[2] I was born in 1964. The War Hero was painted in 1945, and appeared in October of that year, on the cover of the Saturday Evening Post;[3] it is not part of the Willie Gillis series, which Rockwell had made popular during the war,[4] and which were designed to lift the spirits of the country.  This is a rather different work; it is a celebration, and a reminder, of all that we have endured, and overcome; the war is over.

My source material has come, primarily, from the Internet, and has been utilised here via the Fair Use Act; I have given credit for same, insofar as possible. It should be noted, however, for the purposes of this document, that my analyses and my interpretations are entirely my own; they are not the work of others, nor were they provided to me by others.

My interpretations have not been submitted to either a professional historian, art critic, or indeed to anyone connected to Norman Rockwell, the Saturday Evening Post; in all honesty, I shouldn’t know where to start.

I have stated that the analyses and interpretations presented herein are entirely the results of my own work, and my own efforts, and so, I must also state that any mistakes, glaring or otherwise, are also my own. I’m hardly perfect, although I certainly try my best; the reader’s gracious indulgence is humbly requested.

Finally, to answer the question which my friends, colleagues and acquaintances have asked, since I first began to buttonhole them with my enthusiasm, and bore them with my efforts, in the immortal words of Sir Edmund Hillary (who, in fact, once held me as a baby): “Because…it was there.” [5]

Respectfully submitted,

Sanjay R Singhal, RA

11 November, 2015

 

[1] Wharton, Edith. A Backward Glance. New York, D Appleton & Company, 1934. One of my favourite books, by one of my favourite authors.

[2] Wells, HG. The Time Machine. London, William Heinemann, 1895.

[3] Diana Denny. Rockwell: The War Years. The Saturday Evening Post. http://www.saturdayeveningpost.com/2012/05/24/art-entertainment/rockwell-the-war-years-2.html. 24 May 2012. Web. Accessed 20 October 2015.

[4] Ibid. Classic Covers: The All-American Soldier Willie Gillis. The Saturday Evening Post. http://www.saturdayeveningpost.com/2011/05/28/art-entertainment/allamerican-soldier-willie-gillis.html. 28 May 2011. Web. Accessed 20 October 2015.

[5] Often attributed to Hillary, but first uttered by George Mallory. Sean Sullivan. Because It’s There: The Quotable George Mallory. The Clymb. http://www.theclymb.com/stories/passions/explore/because-its-there-the-quotable-george-mallory/. 2013. Web. Accessed 24 October 2015.

To open the Document, simply double-click on the words “THE WAR HERO” above, and the PDF file will open for you; you may then download the file to your own computer, or read here, at your leisure.

Sanjay R Singhal, RA

150729 beyond the forest new logoPlease join Beyond The Forest on Facebook to share your comments and/or questions about this, or any other of my reports and postings!

Please join me on Tuesday evenings at 8pm (Central Time) for Beyond The Forest on BlogTalkRadio as we explore the world of the Elder Children!

Copyright © 2015 Sanjay R Singhal, RA.  All rights reserved.

One comment

Leave a Reply

